NaNoWriMo

I woke up this morning and decided that I am going to participate in NaNoWriMo. No Idea why, but writing was the first thing on my mind when I woke up. Well, second thing… I needed a glass of water. I average a gallon of water a day and if I don’t have a glass before bed I wake up dying of thirst. A friend of mine actually warned me about this. I was planning on increasing my water intake and he told me that he basically became addicted to water after increasing the amount that he drank. I kid you not, I am now addicted to drinking water. It’s a problem. But not the problem that I wanted to talk about today, sorry, I got side tracked. So, the second thing on my mind this morning, NaNoWriMo.

For National Novel Writing Month, which is November, writers try to start and finish writing a novel in a month. A fifty thousand word novel. In a month. That’s a five, with a zero, then a comma, and three more zero’s behind it. That would be a pretty big feat for this guy, especially considering that the longest thing that I have finished to date is probably somewhere around fifteen thousand words. That’s a complete guess, to be honest it could be ten thousand, it could be twenty thousand, I don’t know. I used to have a bad habit of throwing my writing projects away after finishing them.

So, here I am, preparing to embark on one of my biggest writing quests to date. I’ve mentioned before that I was in the midst of writing a book. I’m not going to use that idea for nanowrimo. I need a break from that book and nanowrimo is going to be a great change of pace for me. A HUGE change of pace. Now, I’m not delusional here. I know that the majority of people that try this do not succeed. I know that my chances of succeeding in this are kinda slim as well. But if I even get half of the book done, or if I end up with a twenty thousand word book instead I will still count that as a win… And as a goal to beat next year when I (hopefully) try it again.

My main goal is to complete a 20,000 word novella. Anything more than that I will be happy with. That’s basically 1,000 words a day, minus weekends, Thanksgiving, and my birthday. My only problem with that is making sure that I don’t get into the habit of bartering with myself. You know, doing the whole “well you wrote 1,500 yesterday so today you only need 500 words” (or vice versa) thing. I need to stay on track and commit to writing at least 1,000 words a day. But, what to write?

Well, I have a few ideas floating around in my head, but I figure that this project will eventually make its way onto my blog anyway… So I might as well give my readers the opportunity to decide what they would like to read. I am going to spend the rest of this month prepping for NaNoWriMo, and I am going to ask for your help.

The novel or novella or whatever I get will most likely come out as a series on my blog… What would you like to read about? Do you think I should expand on something from I write things (I actually have a couple more short stories that I’ll add to this later this week)? Should I write about my life? Maybe a recurring theme that you’ve seen (or not seen) in my blog? Or should I write about something that I briefly touched on or hinted at that you would like me to expand on? Or, do you have an idea about a specific genre that you think I should write about? Basically, what have you seen (or not seen) in my blog so far that you would be willing to read 20,000+ words about?

 

Until next time, let’s write.

NaNoWriMo

P.S. I would love to find out if any of you are also participating in Nanowrimo… Have any of you done it before? Any advice (and/or encouragement) that you have for me would be much appreciated.

19 Comments Add yours

  1. Lol I don’t know what you did, but your response somehow ended up in the spam folder on here? Weird! Ok, so, thank you so much for wishing me luck. I’m still pretty nervous about this. I think I’ve settled on some sci-fi-ish fiction. I’ve got the general idea now, I just have to build on the timeline and characters and what not. HOPEFULLY I can get a pretty good outline done by the end of the month.

    Like

  2. da-AL says:

    Am sure it’ll shape itself so long as you follow your passion 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I think I have a pretty good concept, I just have to make sure to get my outline done this week and hopefully it will work out

      Liked by 1 person

  3. gigglingfattie says:

    Best of luck Alphonso! I’ve always admired the people who were able to do NaNoWriMo. It’s something that I have considered doing but I have no idea what to even start writing about. I have followed a few blogs who did it last year, and they said they were able to get outlines and character sheets filled out to help them stay organized. Having a page with your characters details on it to reference at a later day was a huge help (like did you say they were left handed and forgot? Or what was the name of their childhood dog..or was it a cat?). I’m not sure what the exact rules are for what you can do before November 1st though….but those were some of the tips they shared last year.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks! That’s going to be a part of what I do this month to prep. From what I’ve found you can actually do a lot before November first. All of your research and outlines and character/world building/ plot/ sub-ok it/ whatever else sheets can all be done ahead of time. If I do it right it will make this a lot easier. I’m going to have to lock down a starting point sometime today or tomorrow

      Liked by 1 person

    2. gigglingfattie says:

      Oooo that’s awesome!! Good luck!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Kristi says:

    I love talking about NaNo, so let me throw out a few tips. Don’t think about the total word count (even the total daily word count)–break it down into more manageable segments, write a few hundred words during a lunch break, or other small chunks of time, and then when you get to your normal writing time (presuming you work this way), you already have less to write. Also, check out @NaNoWordSprints on Twitter for some near-constant timed writing sprints to join in on.

    Take advantage of the forums, but don’t let it become a time sink. And back-up your work, even if you’re writing by hand (scan the pages?).

    This will be my 8th year doing NaNo, and I have had ups and downs, near losses and spectacular victories. It CAN be done, and it can be a lot of fun!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you! That’s a great way if looking at it. And I’m definitely going to look up nanowordsprints the next chance I get

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Kristi says:

      That Twitter feed helped me get 10k words one day, without even realizing I’d written that much. It doesn’t always work out that way, of course, but it really helps me keep going.

      Like

    3. Wow, is it up now so I can check it out and see how it works or do they just use it during November?

      Liked by 1 person

    4. Kristi says:

      Their last tweet was on August 1st, probably just finishing up Camp NaNo (if I recall correctly, that feed actually took off during a Camp event years ago), but you can scroll down a bit and get an idea of what goes on there. There won’t be any activity until November, or at least really close to November.

      Liked by 1 person

    5. Got it, I’ll check it out, thanks again!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Jad says:

    I am not participating in NaNoWriMo but I am writing a book. I was struggling a little to get it finished so I paid for an editor, now I have to get it done otherwise I just threw away money. Good luck on the book

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Oh wow that’s great! Let me know how you like the editor and that whole experience, I might find myself looking for an editor for a different writing project later on. And please let me know when you finish the book, I’d love to read it!

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Jad says:

      I surely will 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. irunelite says:

    This sounds like an awesome competition/challenge! Not sure about what topic to suggest yet. 🤔

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks, I can’t wait to get started, let me know if you get any ideas

      Liked by 1 person

  7. sarah wertheimer says:

    Good luck! Thats not an easy task. I have a lot of things I’ve used to help for short writing, but I don’t have much experience with writing lengthy pieces. Mostly because I dont have the patience to include all the details that coherently thread the ideas for a beginning or an end or a middle. Lol

    But I would say, while thinking about what to write, to start off really basic:
    What’s something you think you’d WANT to write about for 20,000 words?
    Maybe look at the type of things that you like to read.
    do you like fiction or something factual? Philosophical?
    also, Do you like the idea of something totally creative, or something where you take pre-existing nouns (people, places, experiences) and run with it from there?

    Start with the most basic parts (theme, tone, genre, what you like) then work up from there.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment